Story Builder Toy’s Custom Creations – K9 Plush

Seems like I’ve become the go to person for plush robots lately, which is kinda awesome, but a little intimidating because then I get requests like this from hyper fans who want a specific character and who will know right away if I screw up.

I don’t have any “in-progress” pictures of this one because once I started constructing it there was simply no time to stop and snap some. For such a seemingly simple body shape there was a bit of complexity in the actual construction. Getting everything to line up correctly was the a bit daunting, plus I was working with new material this time.

Usually I make everything out of fleece because you don’t have to worry about unfinished edges unraveling, but this time I wanted something that had a flatter metal color so I opted for some grey corduroy.

My usual felt detail work remains and I did mix in a little fleece for some color variations. The tail is a big pipe cleaner so I could get the shape right. The whole thing stands just over the promised 12 inches so at least I’m getting better at estimating finished sizes.

The biggest challenge was attaching the neck since it needed to keep it’s tube shape and be able to support the weight of the head. I had some fun figuring out how to stitch it correctly and while K9 will never be able to look straight I think it gives the plushie a bit more character to have him looking slightly to the side as if he spotted something interesting over there.

All in all this went much better and quicker than the Gordon Freeman Plush I shared with you guys last time. I still picked up a few useful tips on pattern making and realized I’ve gotten better at assembling odd shapes.

Thanks for reading this edition of Custom Creations, if you’ve got an idea for a stuffed something you’d like to buy, contact me here or via my site Story Builder Toys and ask about a custom order.

One thought on “Story Builder Toy’s Custom Creations – K9 Plush

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

Leave a Reply

